Stage 2: Peter Wrolich Edges Quinziato and Armstrong

Lance Armstrong was right there at the finish, but the win went to Peter Wrolich. The unofficial results are as follows:

  • 1. Peter Wrolich (Gerolsteiner), 4 hours, 46 minutes, 26 seconds
  • 2. Manuel Quinziato (Saunier Duval-Prodir), same time
  • 3. Lance Armstrong (Team Discovery)
  • 4. Ivan Fanelli (Team LPR)
  • 5. Bobby Julich (Team CSC)

Leaders in the race overall:

  • Robbie Hunter, General Classification
  • Greg Henderson, Sprint Leader
  • Mauro Santambrogio, Best Young Rider
  • Andrea Tafi, Most Aggressive Rider

Andrea Tafi of Saunier Duval-Prodir had the long breakaway today. He was caught less than 10k from the finish. A lot of people in the press room were rooting for him.

Lance Armstrong must have felt strong today. According to Wrolich, Armstrong could have won but he was all alone (without any teammates) as they crested Watchtower Hill for the last time. Lance had to counter a move by Levi Leipheimer well before the finish line. Leipheimer unofficially finished sixth.